Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam as ASEAN Member States have launched an ASEAN Patent Examination Co-operation (ASPEC) programme. It is the first regional patent co-operation programme which commenced on 15 June 2009. Brunei Darussalam has since joined the programme on 1 January 2012.

The purpose of this programme is to share search and examination results between the participating offices to allow applicants in participating countries to obtain corresponding patents faster and more efficiently. The programme will potentially reduce duplication on the search and examination work done, thereby saving time and effort. Additionally, search and examination work done on a corresponding application serves as a useful reference in producing quality reports.

As part of a regular review of the ASPEC programme, a revision was made and the ASPEC programme will now operate in the English language in all participating ASEAN IP Offices. The ASPEC Request Form has also been revised.

Please download links as below:

Links to other participating ASEAN Member States:

Brunei Darussalam:
The Philippines:
Lao PDR:
Viet Nam:

For enquiries relating to the ASPEC programme, please contact Ms Norsita Ismail via telephone 603 2299 8700 ,

email norsita @ or Mr Abd Rahman Ramli via telephone 603 2299 8814, email rahman @ with the subject heading "ASPEC programme".