« Back


2 August 2016- MyIPO had successfully organized the National Intellectual Property Award 2016 in celebration of the award recipients held in Dewan Merdeka, Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC).


The ceremony was officiated by YB Dato' Hamzah Zainuddin, Minister, Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK) on behalf of YAB Dato ' Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak, Prime Minister of Malaysia. 


This award ceremony is the highlight of the National Intellectual Property Day, celebrated on April 26 every year. National Intellectual Property Award 2016 was held to recognize the creators and innovators of the best countries and organizations that are actively involved in the development, commercialization and management of intellectual property. 


The number of National Intellectual Property Award 2016 participations has shown an increase of 25%, a total of 438 participations compared to 328 participations in 2015. The award winners received a trophy and a certificate from the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) in addition to a trophy and a cash prize from MyIPO.


The National Intellectual Property Award Ceremony has also witnessed the launching of IP Funtastic and IP Portal for Youngsters, programmes which designed for secondary school students to learn more about intellectual property henceforth instill a culture of innovation and invention among them.